NMDOT celebrates road maintenance crew in southwest New Mexico

Crew in Anthony wins statewide Best Patrol

ANTHONY – The New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) District One announces the Statewide Best Patrol of the Year. At the Transportation Department, the road maintenance crews are called “patrols”. These are the men and women who work hard to maintain state roadways. There are more than 80 patrols around the state.

Congratulations to the following crew:

NMDOT Best Patrol of the Year

Anthony Maintenance Patrol

Ernest Sedillo, Miguel Farias, Ernest Lascano, Stephan Cordero, Clayton Alsberge, Jaime Garces, Charles Herrera, Jesus Morones, Daniel Najera, Edgar Rodriguez, and Joseph Aldaz.

Every year, NMDOT District Maintenance Sections throughout the state recognize a patrol of the year. The Best Patrol winner in each of the six districts is selected through nominations by supervisors. A district committee then completes an evaluation of the patrol office, yard operations, shop operations and a 5-mile section of roadway.

This year, the Anthony Patrol competed against Cliff and Magdalena in District One. Once announced as the District One winner, the Anthony Patrol competed for statewide recognition against the six other Districts, winning the statewide Best Patrol honor. This patrol will be recognized at a NMDOT Commission Meeting in the upcoming 2022 year.

The NMDOT Anthony Maintenance Patrol takes care of more than 108 lane miles including, Interstate 10, New Mexico State and US routes within Dona Ana County. Their daily activities include mowing, signage, fencing, litter control, drainage, structure maintenance, and call outs for roadway closures due to emergencies and weather conditions.


News Talk 92.7 FM KOBE 1450 AM- Talk, Done Right